I’m back! And I’ve got a story for you…

It’s been a while blogosphere! After a nice and relaxing winter break its time to re-enter the world of being a journalism student.

I’m taking Journalism 335: Intermediate Reporting with Prof. Sue Robinson this semester and am so excited to be past the terrifyingly-gigantic intro course that is J202.

Unfortunately, when it came time to pick a topic to do a feature report on throughout the semester, my mind went completely blank. For like a week. I had no ideas at all. My classmates’ all had amazing ideas that inspired me…eventually.

I decided to do my feature report on The Solidarity Singers that continue to protest at the capitol, two years after most of those protesting Governor Scott Walker’s Union Bill had long since gone.

Working at the Wisconsin Historical Museum on Capitol Square has allowed me to see this passionate group singing and gathering at the Capitol for the last two years. I hope to discover why this group is still here, who makes up the group, and what their goals are.

Doing some online research has shown me that several members of the group face legal consequences, including thousands of dollars in fines. I hope to talk to the Capitol Police Department to figure out why these supposedly peaceful protestors were given tickets and citations.

Maybe I’ll find a really great story about passionate people who won’t give up on a cause they truly believe in. It could be a great human interest piece with a national audience. It could also be a flop. We shall see…

Wish me luck!And let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

